Double the Fun Playsuits

It was my great privilege to visit my twin sister over the weekend.  I had been wanting to make a 40’s style playsuit, and because my sister loves vintage clothing, I thought she could use one too.  So I cut out all the pieces for two matching playsuits using this bikini top pattern and shorts pattern found on etsy.

And we played dueling sewing machines:

DSC_0007

It was a little tiring because I was determined that we finish in time to take photos before I had to go home.  But finish we did.
DSC_0037

YAY!

And I’m afraid I spent too much time figuring out how to adjust my new tripod and work the remote, instead of looking at the lighting, etc.  So these dark goofy pictures are all I have to share with you.
DSC_0010

We are concentrating on how to use the remote here, tapping our twin powered brains.

DSC_0085

DSC_0058

Splish

DSC_0095

Qui got splashed

DSC_0080

and these are the best close-ups I have for you.  Shorts are high waisted with a side zip (I redrew the crotch line using my Colette Iris pattern because the original shorts pattern was a lousy fit.)  The second version is much improved, but still a little pouffy in the front, although I think that may have more to do with the 40’s style.

DSC_0062

The top has gingham trim and lining, with a two button closure in back.  The navy blue fabric is cotton twill.

I really like the top, but the cups are a little too big for me… so I would definitely use a smaller cup size and just lengthen the waist band for any future tops from this pattern.  The directions are fairly vague, so this would not be a good beginner pattern, but with a little construction know-how, it came together without much trouble.

28 comments

    1. I’m honored you would want to pin it! I’ve never been pinned. And it doesn’t help that my flickr account was set to copyright on all my photos. I changed it, so I think the pics can be pinned now. If not, let me know…

  1. Omg!
    One, I am so far behind on commenting and two, I’m so jealous that your have a twin sister! You two must have had so much fun growing up.

    The playsuit looks awesome! It looks great on you two and the vintage inspiration is super super cute!

  2. Ack! These are just brilliant! And I love the lighting – it gives the photos a real vintage vibe, perfect for the playsuits. I especially love the creepy (in the best possible way) awesomeness of the image with the two of you holding hands!

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

