Peek-a-boo Hazel

Here’s my Hazel dress:
Untitled

My hair is a little wind blown after an outdoor lunch.  Fish tacos.  It was good :)

I’ve seen vintage and current RTW dresses with a small back opening between the skirt and bodice, so I attempted to recreate the look by altering the Hazel pattern.

Untitled

I omitted the zipper and replaced it with a button back for the bodice.  The skirt had enough width to be pulled on without an opening, so I used elastic to gather it and hold it in place.  I bought the green belt before the pattern inspiration struck but was determined to use it because the outfit needs more color.  So I made some button holes along the back of the skirt to string the belt through.
Untitled

I am happy with the fit of the dress and didn’t make any adjustments other than changing the back opening.  I did overlap the back pieces a little more than expected to achieve a snugger fit.  I shortened the straps a couple times (over 1 1/2″ total) in order to keep them up and in place.  Unfortunately the straps don’t cover my regular bra straps, so I went with a strapless bra, which is not my favorite.  I may go back and attempt to adjust the strap placement again–I think I would wear this dress more if it was more accommodating to strappy bras.
Untitled

The fabric is a very light cotton with green clip dots.  It’s a little sheer, so I lined the bodice and underlined the skirt with an additional very light and sheer white cotton.    The result is adequate coverage and a very lightweight breezy dress.

All in all, this pattern was a delight to put together and I’m happy with the end result, despite the straps.  Although, I have to admit, it is a bit difficult to button up the back on my own.  With some patience, I did manage it one handed by touch, but it was definitely not quick and easy to throw on.  Maybe with practice I will be able to button it faster.

This was my first sew-along :) I’m excited to see everyone else’s Hazels!

22 comments

  1. Qui! This is adorable! You look summery and classy all at once. You are so creative – whose child are you?! lol

    love ya
    Mom

  2. This is so creative! I love the button details and the buttonhole belt loops are genius, I’m super impressed (and a little jealous)! This looks adorable in you, I’m sure you got a ton of compliments at lunch too :)

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!