Curtains for Sleep

Hello!  Just a quick post to say hi; I’m getting settled in Texas.  I saved the sewing room for unpacking last, lest I get distracted and neglect the rest of the house.  But it’s in usable condition now.

See that blue cutting mat below?  Well, I warped it badly by storing it upright behind a bookcase in CA.  It turns out the Texas heat is good for something though: I left the mat lying on our balcony for about 3 days in the sun and heat, and it’s about 99% flat again!!  It sure is a lot easier to cut on a flat mat.

Untitled

I was in a hurry to make curtains for our bedroom–there’s a street light directly outside our window that lights up the whole apartment at night.  I ordered some white swiss dot cotton and black out drapery lining from frabric.com, and I was delighted when it was delivered a day early.   I couldn’t wait to get some curtains up.

I kept the layers separate so that I could tie the lining back by itself.  I like the back lighting on the swiss dot.
Untitled

Untitled

The lining does a wonderful job blocking out light, and I slept much better last night.

Untitled

I’ve got a bedskirt in the works too, but I won’t bore you with the details.

Maybe you’d like to see a seersucker sundress though?  Hancock’s fabric store is barely a mile from my apartment, and they seem to have sales frequently–40% off seersucker cottons, yes please, just what I need to survive this heat.

7 comments

  1. Yay! Congrats on your move! I live near a hancocks also and they have frequent buyer cards, pretty handy and thy send a local coupon flyer. Btw your kitty painting is adorable, did you paint it?

    1. definitely getting hooked up with Hancocks and all their coupons–it’s nice to have somewhere close to get all the basics.
      I didn’t do that particular painting–one of my best friends did it several years ago. it’s one of my treasures :)

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

