1940’s Dress – Part 1

I’m sewing for victory, and I finally made a start.  I’ve had my fabric and pattern picked out for months now, but this weekend I actually traced the pattern, and tonight I’m cutting out the muslin.  I’ve got one more weekend between me and victory (March 29th is the deadline), so it’s now or never.

I’m using Du Barry 5947 and some green fabric I got at Mood LA.
Untitled

The green fabric is a soft shirting fabric with a small pattern in the weave.  The color is hard to see in the photo, but it is a pale green.  I’m having some doubts about this fabric… I like it, but I fear it is such a plain pale color that it will make my dress look like a boring muslin.  The pattern suggests decorative saddle stitching around the seams, and I wonder if this could add enough interest?

Untitled

The first contrasting thread color to come to mind is red (my fave), but I think blue could work to.  Any suggestions??  I’m not very creative with color mixing…

I do, however, have a red buckle I could use for the belt.  I found myself at the Santa Cruz antique fair last month and came across a lady with a booth full of vintage buttons.  I’m sure I paid too much, but check out the pretty red buttons I got:
Untitled

Yep, I bought all red buttons.  What can I say?  When you know what you like, why fight it?

I was showing off my button purchase at lunch with friends, which led to my friend offering me some of her mother’s sewing supplies she had in storage.  I was given some great fabrics and A LOT of buttons, seam binding, threads, buckle and button kits, a Singer buttonholer and feet attachments, and TWO pairs of pinking shears.  That took my number of pinking shears from zero to two, just in time for the 40’s sew-a-long!
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

I’ve never pinked seams before, so I’m excited to try this vintage finishing technique.

Well, I better get cutting.  Time’s a wastin’!

18 comments

  1. I think maroon and pale green would look awesome! I JUST finished my muslin today so we’ll be sewing our final garments together ;) That’s a pretty amazing stash of notions you’ve just been gifted, and the photo of your kitty is just priceless. So cute!

  2. I recently bought a 1940’s sewing book, and one of the suggestions in there for finishing seams, if a seamstress didn’t have pinking shears, was to cut the zig-zags into the seam allowance snip-by-painful-snip with a regular scissors. Good thing you got some shears.

  3. I like Rochelle’s suggestion of maroon – a true red might make it look like a holiday dress! I love your pattern – those pleats are adorable!!

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

