Water Soluble Pastels

Because it’s been one of those weeks–the kind where I have every minute of every day filled with plans, only to be constantly thwarted–I am throwing up a quick post to say, “hello bloggers :)” and look what I found:

20120523-121004.jpg

I was in my local art supply store when I spied some clear french curve rulers. I’ve had these on my “need to get someday” list but had only seen metal ones for twice the price. I really like clear rulers so I can see what’s going on underneath. I’m controllig like that. And, I found water soluble pastels. I didn’t have any marking tools that would show up well on my red feather fabric, but these pastels come in a wonderfully wide range of colors. I picked up two colors to try out. I used the green/teal color, and it worked great for marking and washed away with nothing but water applied.

20120523-121530.jpg

So now I’m recommending these to you! They aren’t as soft as regular ol’ chalk, but they don’t wipe off accidently either!

I managed to get all my pattern pieces cut out Sunday afternoon, but haven’t been able to sew anything up yet! I got some thread and shoulder pads last night, so no excuses now. I have tonight and tomorrow night to sew. I’m counting on this wrap around style to be an easy fit. If not, I have a gorgeous back up dress to wear, so I need not fret. There’s the update on my too busy life.

Also, my sister said these were yummy:

20120523-122045.jpg

She wasn’t kidding. Yumm! Have you found or tried anything new lately? Do share!

16 comments

  1. I am very interested in those pastels!

    Is that the fabric you are using for the pattern I gave you? It’s GORGEOUS!!!

    1. yes, I really like the feather print, thank you. I’m thinking I’ll need to try the pattern in a solid fabric next, to show off the gathered details. Jessi wants a robe made with lace trim too ;)
      I didn’t make a muslin…. ummm… so I hope it fits! I’m really pressed for time right now. But I adore the pattern, so I hope to use it a lot more!!

  2. Oh, I have one of those rulers and I really like it! And I have to say that the water soluble pastels sound genius! Chalk is so smudgy and imprecise, but I just had an experience with a “washable” marker that wasn’t so washable… totally my fault since I was in too much of a rush to test it! Sigh…

    1. oh bummer! I used a sharpie one time, just to trace around a pattern, but it bled through the fabric and left a few spots on my table :( Not so smart… I find I need several different tools in several different colors to meet my marking needs!

  3. I have recently discovered a grocer who stocks a lot of Australian-made Chinese food…..pork and chicken meatballs, cooked in a broth, 4 minutes in the microwave = heaven!

  4. I have been using those rulers for years and highly recommend them! The cost-per-use share is probably less than 1 cent, if that’s possible. I’m sorry you’ve had such a hectic week and I only hope it gets better!

  5. I got the Caran D’ache water soluble wax pastels on your recommendation but can’t seem to get them out of my fabric! I’ve run my fabric through two cycles in the washing machine and they still won’t come out! I’m not sure what I did wrong to make them not so washable, do you have any tips?

    1. Oh no!! I’m so sorry to hear that. I’m afraid I don’t have any tips… I’ve never had a problem with them. My only tip is to always test on a scrap of fabric before using any type of marking utensil. I use different things on different fabrics… chalk, pencils, markers, the pastels, etc. I’ve had water soluble markers not wash out immediately, but I let the garment soak in water for a few minutes, and then gently rubbed the marks till they disappeared. I would be very cautious using an iron on the pastel markings as well–some things can be set in with heat. I’m so sorry to hear the marks aren’t coming out–I hope you find a solution.

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

