Pattern Weights

Today I went to Home Depot in preparation for my next sewing project.
I was looking for something heavy to use as pattern weights, as suggested by so many fellow sewists.
I was immediately helped by an older gentleman who I explained to the purpose of my quest. He showed me the largest washers he had, but he wasn’t satisfied that I should use them. Instead he suggested I go to a fishing supply store and buy lead fishing weights, and fill a fabric pouch with those lead weights. That would be nice and heavy he said. Or bee-bees or metal pellets. And tie a little ribbon to close up a sack of them.

I thought it was a fabulous idea, but I wondered how much those weights would cost, and wouldn’t I need quite a few…? As I drove out of the parking lot and headed in the direction of Outdoor World, I thought to myself, you know what’s heavy? That tub of pennies that has been waiting for 2 1/2 years to be rolled and exchanged for dollar bills. You have a lot of heavy pennies at home.

Untitled

So I went home and made little pouches which I filled with pennies.

Untitled

I made six of these polka dot weights, and I can’t wait to try them out this week as I prep my toile.

I have two weeks to get a dress ready for my friends’ wedding at the end of the month.

Untitled

If I mention it here, then I have to complete it on time, right? Well I hope this is motivation enough for me to get crackin!

I recently won this pattern from Miss Crayola Creepy’s giveaway, and though it’s a robe, I intend to wear it as a wrap around dress!  I will use the short sleeve version and make it just past the knee in length.  This will be my first venture using a retro pattern as well.    Any suggestions on how to ensure it appears as a dress and not a house robe would be most welcome!  I’m definitely leaving the frilly trim off the yoke, and it will all be cut from one fabric.  Wish me luck!

16 comments

    1. I thought it was clever, but I also wondered if I’m just a lazy sloth… or if it’s an illegal use of money… I don’t know, but it’s working for me ;) and the pennies certainly aren’t damaged, so no big deal.

      1. Not at all illegal. The laws regarding use of money is that their use is legal as long as the bills or coins would still be spendable after use. Since you haven’t damaged the pennies, someone would be able to spend them if you ever decided not to use them as weights. Perfectly within the boundaries of the law.

        And a great idea to boot.

  1. Oh, I like that pattern! And I’m going to copy your pattern weight idea. I’ve been thinking of getting some too, but not enough to actually buy any…yet! Love your blog…found you through comments on Ginger Makes. Have a great day!

  2. How fun . . . I thought of the same project at the same time, down to using pennies! Mine are smaller though . . . might need to make bigger ones like yours . . . thanks for sharing! :)

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

