Song Bird Top

Where to begin…

I was traveling last Wednesday through Sunday, and I feel all out of sorts.  I came home in desperate need of sleep, to do laundry and grocery shop.  I’ve been able to catch up on all three matters the last two days, so finally tonight, I can think about writing a post and what sewing project will be next.  Before my trip, I did complete a little sewing project, and during the trip I was able to get a couple pictures of the top in action.

After making a Sorbetto tank top for my mom, I was envious and needed one of my own.  I found some darling quilting cotton (eek!) that had such lovely spring colors, I was smitten and bought it.  As much as I love the print, it is still quilting cotton, and it has the stiff heavy feel of such cotton.  I knew this when I bought it, and indeed it is not the most comfortable top I’ve made, but I think I’ve already worn it 4 or 5 times in less than 2 weeks.

Untitled

I complicated this very simple project by adding sleeves.  I started with Mena’s sleeve pattern from the Sew Weekly, but I didn’t like the shape, so I began to fiddle with it.  I changed the shape of the bottom edge of the sleeve, and added a slit opening, intending to close the opening with a button.  It felt too loose, so I ended up adding a band around the bottom and gently gathering the sleeve.  By the third sleeve version, I was satisfied enough to finish the other sleeve in the same manner.
Untitled

Other changes to the original pattern include raising the back neck line, lowering the front neck line and omitting the center pleat.  I like to wear this top with blue jeans, and the wide range of colors in the print lends itself to matching with bright accessories: blue, green, red, yellow, pink–it’s all there, which means lots of choice in earrings, shoes, lipstick, etc.  Overall, it’s a successful top that is quickly becoming a regular in my lineup.

I was very excited to visit with a fellow sewing blogger over the weekend, Miss Crayola Creepy!  Miss CC took me to the Seven Sister’s Quilt Show in San Luis Obispo, and I may have the quilting bug now.  Check out the blue and white quilt on her post here.  I could totally see that quilt on my bed :)

While I search for the perfect navy blue fabrics, I’ll be cutting out Butterick B5152.  And I HAVE to make a muslin this time, because the final garment will be out of a special fabric, for a dress to wear to some friends’ wedding at the end of the month.  I have just over 20 days to complete the dress, so we’ll see how I do.  It wouldn’t be the first time I didn’t finish a dress on time and had to wear plan B instead.

Have you ever had to resign yourself to wearing a plan B type dress, or do you marathon sew to finish in time?

19 comments

  1. I love this top. My favorite part is the sleeves with the button detail. I’m quite fond of the fabric too including the stiffness of it… for some reason it works, helps keep its shape better or something.

    Can’t wait to see your dress for the wedding.

  2. Oh, this is really cute! I can see why you like it so much!

    I found you through Miss Crayola Creepy, and I have to say that I love your blog!

    As far as special occasion sewing goes, I’ve pulled an all-nighter the night before the wedding to finish a dress, but since then, I’ve tried to dial it back and go for the plan B if it looks like I’m not going to finish a few days in advance. I can’t handle that kind of stress!

  3. I had fun with you! Next time we should sew together with Jessi too. I might have to pick your brain about buttonholes if you don’t mind :)

  4. I love the top. The print is so fabulous. I used to rush through projects in order to make a deadline but not anymore. This year I’ve changed my focus to quality garments, no matter how long it takes!

  5. Oh, lovely! I’ve been eying that fabric online, and it’s so cute on you as a top! Great choice! Myself, I’ve been fighting with the Sorbetto pattern… I want to like it, and it looks great on other people, but on me, it’s a giant tent! Boo. :( I do love your version though!

    1. Thank you! I really do love this print. I agree it feels a bit like a tent tho ;) The quilting cotton is just too stiff, it doesn’t tuck in well. I’ve made a version with a more drapey fabric, and it is less tent-like. Thanks for reading! Happy sewing :)

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

