Easter in Corning: Olive City

Friday was my mother’s birthday, and I had just a few hours to make her something on Saturday before driving to my grandpa’s ranch for Easter, where I would also get to see my parents.   I pulled out the Sorbetto pattern for the second weekend in a row and made her a tank top in a floral print.  My mom loves the sun and is always wearing tank tops when the weather permits.
Untitled

I omitted the center pleat and added a faux button placket instead.  Despite careful measuring and marking, the placket is ever so slightly tilting to the left.  I don’t seem to have any talent for right angles and perpendicular lines.  Even levels get the best of me.  Perfection eludes me, and it’s a relief to no longer chase it.  So the crooked button placket stayed.
Untitled

My mother was kind enough to wear her new top for the day so I could photograph it. Here she is with me and my niece:

Untitled

My family all congregated in Northern California for Easter this year, and we had such a wonderful time!  I hadn’t been to my grandpa’s ranch in several years, and I didn’t realize how much I had missed it (and my grandpa and grandma).  The smells (dairies and farms) and sights were all quite nostalgic for me.   I spent a good part of the day snapping photos—every time I turned around there was something else I wanted to photograph.  Here are a few shots from the day:

IMG_2803IMG_2806
IMG_2817IMG_2888
IMG_2819IMG_2804

7 comments

  1. How how lovely! I’m glad you got to spend Easter with your grandparents. And that top looks divine – the placket doesn’t look crooked at all!

  2. Qui, you got such great pictures. I’m stealing all of them! Sure had fun with you guys and really love the tank top! hugs

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

