Reversible Skirt

To adequately share a reversible skirt, one must take pictures of both sides, non?  Yes, well, getting photos of one side was hard enough, and over a week later, I finally got what will have to pass as decent enough photos of side #2.

Making the skirt was the easy part.  It is nothing more than a gathered rectangle, sewn to a curved waist band x2.  I used the selvedge edge for the bottom of the skirt so I could avoid hemming 2 layers (can we say lazy?), and instead of zippers, I made an overlapping slit opening with buttoned tabs to close.  I wanted to avoid using zippers because I didn’t want the bulk of 2 zippers, and I just didn’t see how to make it work otherwise.  Does a double sided zipper exist??
Photo

I wore the teal side to my brother’s birthday party, held at the beautiful Seascape resort.  I arrived just in time for sunset.
Photo

Not a bad view.

My sister was kind enough to take a few photos for me, and my 2 nieces wanted to share the spotlight.

Diptic

Photo

Big sis accidently shut little sis’s finger in the cooler, so we are wrapping her hurt finger with a paper towel.  It immediately became a game, and I found myself wrapping her finger about 20 times in a row.  Sometimes they are so easy to please.

After a week of beautiful weather, I thought I’d wear side B today to enjoy some sunshine and get some photos.  Of course it ended up being overcast and cold out.  Mr. GF obliged me with a photo at the pizza parlor where we had lunch with friends.
Photo

I really thought I could do better, so I set-up my mini tripod and camera at home to snap a few shots myself.  And the dog and cat would not be left out.
Photo

There is a distinct lack of natural light in our home, and using the timer on my camera, etc, etc did not lead to any more impressive photos.  So there you have it, the navy blue side of the skirt.

It’s a very comfortable skirt to wear due to the length and light airy feeling of the fabric.  Generally a skirt past my knees makes me feel a tad frumpy, but it was nice not to be overly concerned with keeping my legs crossed (I find shorter skirts can be tiresome to wear).  Come to think of it, short skirts don’t provide much to sit on either, and I don’t like my legs to stick to chairs–this one kept me well covered.

It’s about time to put some cornbread in the oven–I made chili yesterday; big thanks to my friend Amy for sharing her recipe.  Hope you are having a lovely weekend.
Photo

9 comments

  1. It looks awesome Qui! It definitely looks great on! I’m continually impressed by your creativeness! love ya

  2. I love the skirt, it looks fabulous on you :) thanks for posting, especially about Clinton’s birthday dinner. Wish I was there! I had book club meeting #2 tonight. Though none of us enjoyed the book enough to finish it, we had a fun wine and cheese get together.

    1. yes, just a rectangle really :) This is my second gathered skirt cause they’re so easy. I don’t really like cutting out complicated patterns… sometimes cutting can take up my whole afternoon and it’s not very fun :/

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

