Seersucker Sundress

I made another sundress out of seersucker, this time in green gingham.  Cotton seersucker has earned a special place in my heart this summer–it really is quite comfortable in the Texas heat.  Don’t be surprised if you eventually see a dress in every color of seersucker that I can source.

DSC_0019

I made it back around to Pattern Runway’s Gathered Sundress, and this time I made some fitting changes to the pattern and even made a muslin!  I basically kept the medium size shoulder straps but graded the rest of the bodice up to the large size.  My muslin had some gaping at the armholes, so I ended up reducing the curve in the side bodices (front and back) to eliminate the extra fabric.  I redrew my pattern pieces for the sides of the bodice and tested the fit on the lining.  The fit was great!  This is the best fitting dress I have made yet!!

DSC_0031

It is so much more comfortable to wear a dress that fits correctly through the bust and shoulders, not to mention the waist.  I don’t have to suck my tummy in for the dress to hang straight ;)

DSC_0037

I decided to change up the skirt and pockets this time around.  I cut a half circle skirt, a straight waist band, and drafted patch pockets.  I’ve been crushing on patch pockets; I see them a lot on skirt and dress patterns from the 40’s, and I wanted some for my own.  I found Tasha’s post on pockets quite helpful, but I may go back at some point and topstitch the pockets down.  Who am I kidding?!  I doubt I’ll actually ever fix these pockets, but I do think my hand stitching isn’t super strong.  On future projects I would consider topstitching patch pockets instead of sewing them on by hand.  When I put my hand in the pockets, the littlest bit of weight or pressure reveals a little space between the skirt and the pocket.  So maybe I just need to pull my stitches tighter?

DSC_0025

DSC_0036

I’m quite happy with the overall look of the pockets though, and they are functional.  I intended there to be a larger pleat down the middle of the pocket, but it looks more like a small tuck at the top.  A little ironing might help, but part of the fun of seersucker is the bubbly texture that defies ironing.  I added a strip of green bias tape to the pocket to help make it stand out a little bit.  The green of this dress is so subtle, I was desperate to add a little more color in.

DSC_0024

I hemmed the skirt using my machine’s blind hem stitch.  Since discovering the gauge that attaches to the presser foot to help perfectly align the folded fabric, I have been quite satisfied with the results of the machine stitch.  I’m not big on hemming wide skirts by hand, so as long as the machine can do it consistently, I’ll skip the hours of hand stitching.

DSC_0001

I’m thrilled with the results a little fitting and muslin testing can produce.  But now that I have a dress that fits well, I find myself shunning the older dresses in my closet that weren’t quite right.  Does anyone else have that problem??  I think it’s just part of learning…  And I seem to like learning the hard way since I generally pass on muslins ;)

27 comments

  1. An absolute stunner! Perfect fit! It’s so hard to come by! I definitely feel like my ‘new and improved’ garments (the ones where I actually learn a little something, and it shows) get more wear then the ones I’m just kind of ‘meh’ about! Just more reason to keep sewing!!

  2. I recently went through my closet and actually pulled a few of the “meh” garments I had made and hope to re-purpose some of the fabric. If I don’t really wear them, I may as well not keep them and make room for more successes! Love the dress. I have always been fond of seersucker too. There is just something so summery and crisp about it! Beautiful work! ~Laurie

  3. I love this. Great fit on you. It has so much style. I can see the 40s impression but it also looks very classic. Well done.

  4. I know all about learning the hard way! I’m just so lazy when it comes to muslins. I should reconsider after seeing your dress and how well it fits! Looks really cute and comfy!

  5. Another win Qui! I love how it looks on you and of course green is my favorite color. I really love the pockets and the little ribbon of color that you added!

  6. Goodness!! Actually, this dress is a perfect fit and it looks comfortable and cool for high temperatures. Uste has a definite winner in your wardrobe! Love that fabric!

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

