Looking Back and Looking Forward

A year ago I hesitantly started this blog, unsure if I would keep with it for more than a month.

I wanted to improve my sewing, record projects, and interact with other people who sew.  From this standpoint, I feel the blog has been largely successful and well worth my time.  Looking over my projects from this past year, I see a lot of improvement (and room for more growth).  I have an incomplete record of projects, but it is really nice to look back at old posts and have something of a record to review.  It would be easy to forget that reversible skirt I made and never wear if it weren’t for my blog posts.  Yeah, some ideas seem better in my head.  I have greatly enjoyed getting to know other bloggers and have found more and more wonderful blogs to read.

Thank you so much for reading.  And thank you to everyone who has left an encouraging comment or offered tips or suggestions.  I probably would have given up blogging pretty quickly if it weren’t for knowing that people are actually reading.

This year I would like to blog more consistently and do a better job of recording projects.  Not every project is blog worthy, but I would like to have a more thorough record of my sewing progress.  I would venture to say that looking back at the “failures” or less than perfect projects are the most helpful posts.  I need to be reminded that red feather print fabric should be used in moderation.  And I need to find a satisfactory way to style a skirt or just quit making them!  Yes, the blog has been very useful in reflecting on past projects.

I’m very excited to be planning a trip to Europe this year, and right now all I can think about is sewing a great travel wardrobe.  I’m trying to do a better job of planning and coordinating garments in colors that can be mixed and matched.  My current wardrobe reflects a lack of planning and coordinating.

Blogs have been my primary resource in learning, and I will continue to utilize and enjoy reading blogs, but this year I’d also like to expand my resources with some books.  I am reading a travel guide and a photography guide.  And I’d like to read more through Gertie’s book to help improve my pattern altering and fitting skills.  And when I’m done with those, I hope to find some more in depth sewing books to add to the collection.

At some point in my future, I would like to be able to use my sewing to serve others.  The more time I spend sewing, the more selfish I feel.  Other than sewing for my husband or family and friends, I am looking for opportunities to sew for people who are truly in need, such as orphans in Uganda.  I don’t know if this is a goal that will be realized in the immediate future, but hopefully between this year and next I will be in a position to be able to make a solid contribution to helping those in need by sewing.

Thanks again for following my sewing adventures.  I am truly excited to see where another year will take me!

11 comments

  1. I’ve enjoyed keeping up with your sewing projects this past year and I’m excited to see what you come up with in 2013. I too would love to get into charitable sewing. Mostly for my local animal shelter making scrap quilts and things, but my friend also found a website where you make and donate quilts for wounded veterans. I’d really love to work towards doing that. Happy New Year!

    1. Vets and Pets, also near and dear to my heart :) I’m not too experienced with quilts, but I’ll have to look into the quilts for veterans deal, maybe I can work up to that. I sure appreciate all that vets have done for our country. Happy New Year–thanks for reading!

  2. I have enjoyed reading and following along. I also think that because of your blog we have become closer! A year ago would you have thought that we would be road tripping to Oakland and LA??? I made a good friend because of this blog! :)

  3. Happy blogiversary! I’m excited to see what you decide to do about sewing for those in need. My cousin started making one dress a month for Little Dresses for Africa (they send dresses to communities where most kids have never had a nice, new item of clothing). I need to dive into that– it’s a great way to use small pieces of fabric and to share what we have with those who need.

    1. Oh, cool! That’s totally the kind of thing I’d like to do–thanks for sharing. I will post about it once I get going–might not be till the second half of the year tho. Thanks for reading and all the encouragement!!

  4. Great writings Qui! I have enjoyed following your projects and being the recipient of some! Good goals to sew for others in need!

  5. Enjoy your blog, well done on all your endeavours! I find that blogging is a great way to keep on track project wise also, its also very motivating to see what others are working on/ learning… Wishing you fab sewing adventures in 2013! (ps. my fav post you’ve done to date was the one with the bathing retro style bathing/ playsuits.

  6. I’m a big fan of your posts, so I’m glad to hear that you will be continuing this lovely blog through 2013! Like you, I started my blog to help record the things I was making, and it’s been a blast getting to know fab sewists like you ever since :)

Please leave me a comment and let me know you stopped by!

